Disclosure of Disciplinary Action, Arrest, or Conviction
The California State Board of Pharmacy (board) does not pre-screen applicants with criminal convictions to determine eligibility for licensure. The evaluation of any criminal conviction(s) is part of the application process. The board will investigate all misdemeanor and felony convictions in order to achieve its consumer protection mandate. Applicants who have prior criminal convictions that are substantially related to the practice of pharmacy will be denied if they cannot prove sufficient rehabilitation (California Code of Regulations Section 1769) to practice safely. Refer to California Business and Professions Code Section 480 for acts that may disqualify an applicant.
All applicants are required under law to report ALL misdemeanor and felony convictions, regardless of age EXCEPT cases adjudicated in juvenile court.
Convictions must be reported even if they have been dismissed under California Penal Code Section 1203.4 or 1210.1
You do not need to report a conviction for a traffic violation with a fine of less than $500 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances.
Failure to disclose a disciplinary action or conviction may result in the license being denied or revoked for falsifying the application. Refer to the application instructions for more information.
In order to expedite the enforcement review process, applicants should provide the following for each reported conviction:
- A written explanation detailing the type of offense, date, location, and specific circumstances that led to each offense. For any drug and/or alcohol related offenses, please indicate the type of substances involved. For any stolen property or theft offenses, please indicate the type of property, and amounts involved.
Applicants who mark “No” to the conviction question should also provide an explanation as to why the conviction was not disclosed on the application. Please note the following explanations are unacceptable to the board:
- I thought it dropped off my record.
- It wasn’t a felony.
- It was more than __ years ago.
- My school told me I didn’t have to disclose it.
- It was dismissed/expunged.
- It was not drug/alcohol related.
- I didn’t understand the question.
- Certified copy of the arrest/incident report(s) for each offense.
- Certified copy of the court documentation for each offense. Court documentation submitted should include, but is not limited to, the criminal complaint, court minutes, sentencing, and probation order.
- Current proof of compliance with probation which may include, but is not limited to, participation in or completion of any drug and/or alcohol, anger management, domestic violence, or theft programs; payment of fees, fines, or restitution; or completion of community service.
- For DUI or any traffic violations with fines over $500, a current Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) printout showing the status of your driver’s license, any traffic violations, and driving school/offender programs attended/completed. The board will not accept internet print-outs of DMV information.
The board evaluates each application with criminal history on a case-by-case basis to make a determination concerning the applicant’s ability to practice safely. Refer to California Code of Regulations Section 1769 for more detailed information regarding the board’s evaluation of criminal history.
You may also refer to FAQ’s for Applicants with Criminal Convictions for additional information.
The burden is on the applicant to provide the documentation described above. Failure to provide the requested documentation will result in additional delays and the application may ultimately be withdrawn. Once an application is withdrawn, a new application, application fee, and fingerprints are required. Application fees are non-refundable.If you have additional questions, please contact the Board of Pharmacy at (916) 574-7900 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. You may also refer to the California Pharmacy Lawbook.