
   
  

 
 

    
  

    
 

      
 

   
  

 
 

 
    

 
    

  
   

 
     

  
 

  
 

     
 

     
 

        
 

  
      

   
  

 
      

  
  

   
 

     
      

   

Surety Bond Requirements for Third-Party Logistics Providers 
and Nonresident Third-Party Logistics Providers 

Questions and Answers 

Q. What documentation does our company need to provide to verify that our annual 
sales are less than $10,000,000? 

A. Please submit a copy of the company’s tax return for the previous year. 

Q. Our company is a manufacturer licensed by the FDA and appears to be exempt from 
the bonding requirement. Is that correct? 

A. A licensed manufacturer who only distributes drugs of its own manufacture, all of 
which have an approved new drug manufacturing application on file with the FDA, 
are exempt from the surety bond requirement. (See Business and Professions Code 
sections 4162 and 4162.5) 

Q. How do we communicate with the board that our business is exempt from the 
bonding requirement? 

A. To document this exemption, please provide the board with a list of manufactured 
drugs, including the respective NDC number along with a statement certifying that 
the business only distributes its own products. 

Q. We are a licensed third-party logistics provider that only distributes products to 
pharmacies with the same ownership. Are we required to comply with the surety bond 
requirement? 

A. Yes. 

Q. We have a surety bond on file with the State of Florida. Will this bond satisfy 
California’s requirement? 

A. No. A surety bond must be on file with the California State Board of Pharmacy. 

Q. We have checked the board’s website but are unable to locate the forms. Where 
are they? 

A. The $90,000 surety bond form, standby letter of credit form and cash deposit form 
are now available on the board’s website, under the California Third-party logistics 
provider License Application and Nonresident Third-party logistics provider License 
Application. 

Q. What sections of California law require third-party logistics providers to obtain a surety 
bond of other equivalent form of security? 

A. California Business and Professions Code section 4162 for third-party logistics providers 
and section 4162.5 for nonresident third-party logistics providers. 

Q. I do not want to provide the board with evidence that our company’s annual sales 
are less than $10,000,000 to qualify for the $25,000 bond. Will the board accept a 
$25,000 bond without documentation of annual sales volume? 
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A. No. The bonding requirement is $90,000 unless the third-party logistics provider 
provides the board with proof of its annual sales volume that it qualifies for the $25,000 
bond. 

Q. We have four licensed third-party logistics provider sites? Do we need to obtain a bond 
for each location? 

A. No. The owner can post a single $90,000 bond for all sites that are 
commonly owned. 

Q. We are a new company applying for a third-party logistics provider license and as such 
do not have documented proof of annual gross receipts? Are we able to secure a 
$25,000 surety bond? 

A. No. A new business must obtain a $90,000 bond. However, should the business 
in the future demonstrate annual gross receipts of $10 million or less, a new surety 
bond of $25,000 may be obtained in lieu of the higher amount. 

Q. Our company owns several subsidiary companies reflected as the owners of 
third-party logistics providers. Are each of the subsidiary companies required to obtain 
their own respective bonds? 

A. No, a single bond is required. Please provide the board with a copy of an 
organization chart documenting the ultimate owner of the subsidiary companies 
verifying the common ownership. 

Q. I am a licensed wholesaler and want to apply for a third-party logistics provider license 
at the same location. Can I use my wholesale bond for both license types since my 
$100,000 wholesale bond is more than the $90,000 required for third-party logistics 
providers? 

A. No. A wholesale license and a third-party logistics provider license issued to the same 
location must have a separate wholesale bond and third-party logistics provider bond. 


