BEFORE THE
BOARD OF PHARMACY
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
In the Matter of the Accusation Against: Case No. 5022
SUZANNE M. DRISCOLL
1043 Lakeville Circle
Petaluma, CA 94954 DEFAULT DECISION AND ORDER
Pharmacy Technician Registration No, TCH
26598 [Gov. Code, §11520]

Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Onor about April 8, 2014, Complainant Virginia Herold, in her official capacity as
the Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy, Department of Consumer Affairs, filed
Accusation No. 5022 against Suzanne M. Driscoll (Respondent) before the Board of Pharmacy.
(Accusation attached as Exhibit A.) |

2. Onorabout July 31, 1998, the Board of Pharmacy (Board) issued Pharmacy
Technician Registration No, TCH 26598 to Respondent. The Pharmacy Technician Registration
was in full force and effect at all times relevant to the charges brought in Accusation No, 5022
and will expire on May 31, 2016, unless renewed.

3. Onor about May 13, 2014, Respondent was served by Certified and First Class Mail

copies of the Accusation No. 5022, Statement to Respondent, Notice of Defense, Request for
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Discovery, and Discovery Statutes (Government Code sections 11507.5, 11507.6, and 11507.7) at
Respondent’s address of record which, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 4100,
is required to be reported and maintained with the Board. Respondent's address of record was
and is: 1043 Lakeville Circle, Petaluma, CA, 94954,

4,  Service of the Accusation was effective as a matter of law under the provisions of
Government Code section 11503, subdivision (¢} and/or Business & Professions Code section
124.

5. Government Code section 11506 states, in pertinent part:

(c¢) The respondent shall be entitled to a hearing on the merits if the respondent
files a notice of defense, and the notice shall be deemed a specific denial of all parts
of the accusation not expressly admitted. Failure to file a notice of defense shall
constitute a waiver of respondent's right to a hearing, but the agency in its discretion
may nevertheless grant a hearing,

6.  Respondent failed to file a Notice of Defense within 15 days after service upon her of
the Accusation, and therefore waived her right to a hearing on the merits of’ Accusation No. 5022,

7. California Government Code section 11520 states, in pertinent part:

(a) If the respondent either fails to file a notice of defense or to appear at the
hearing, the agency may take action based upon the respondent's express admissions
or upon other evidence and affidavits may be used as evidence without any notice to
respondent.

8. Pursuant to its authority under Government Code section 11520, the Board finds
Respondent is in default. The Board will take action without further hearing and, based on the
relevant evidence contained in the Default Decision Evidence Packet in this matter, as well as
taking official notice of all the investigatory reports, exhibits and statements contained therein on
file at the Board's offices regarding the allegations contained in Accusation No. 5022, finds that
the charges and allegations in Accusation No, 5022, are separately and severally, found to be true
and correct by clear and convincing evidence.

9. Taking official notice of its own internal records, pursuant to Business and
Professions Code section 123.3, it is hereby determined that the reasonable costs for Investigation
and Enforcement is $1,230.00 as of the date of this Order.
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DETERMINATION OF ISSUES

1.  Based on the foregoing findings of fact, Respondent Suzanne M, Driscoll has
subjected her Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 26598 to discipline.

2. The agency has jurisdiction to adjudicate this case by default.

3.  The Board of Pharmacy is authorized to revoke Resbondent's Pharmacy Technician
Registration based upon the violations alleged in the Accusation, which are supported by the
evidence contained in the Default Decision Evidence Packet in this case.

ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED that Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 26598, heretofore
issued to Respondent Suzanne M. Driscoll, is revoked.

Pursuant tb Government Code section 11520, subdivision (c), Respondent may serve a
written motion requesting that the Decision be vacated and stating the grounds relied on within
seven (7) days after service of the Decision on Respondent. The agency in its discretion may
vacate the Decision and grant a hearing on a showing of good cause, as defined in the statute.

This Decision shall become effective on September 10, 2014.

It is so ORDERED August 11, 2014,

BOARD OF PHARMACY _
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

%(. é,r/mshl‘
¥

STAN C, WEISSER
Board President
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Attachment:

Exhibit A, Accusation No. 5022
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Exhibit A

Accusation No, 5022
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KAMALA D, HARRIS

Attorney General of California

FRANK H. PACOE

Supervising Deputy Attorney General

JONATHAN D. CoOPER

Deputy Attorney General

State Bar No, 141461
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
Telephone: (415} 703-1404
Facsimile: (415) 703-5480

Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE
N BOARD OF PHARMACY
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
In the Mattér of the Accusation Against: Case No. 5022
SUZANNE M. DRISCOLL
921 E. Blithedale C.
Mill Valley, CA 94941 ACCUSATION
Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH
26598

Respondent.

Complainant alleges:
PARTIES

1. Virginia Herold (Complainant) brings this Accusation solely in her official capacity
as the Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy, Department of Consumer Affairs,

2. On or about July 31, 1998, the Board of Pharmacy issued Pharmacy Technician
Registration Number TCH 26598 to Suzanne M, Driscoll (Respondent). The Pharmacy
Technician Registration was in full force and effect at all times relevant to the charges brought
herein and will expire on May 31, 2014, unless renewed.

JURISDICTION

3. This Accusation is brought before the Board of Pharmacy (Board), Department of
Consumer Affairs, under the authority of the following laws. All section references are to the
Business and Professions Code unless otherwise indicated,
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4. Section 4011 of the Code provides that the Board shall administer and enforce both
the Pharmacy Law [Bus. & Prof. Code, § 4000 et seq.] and the Uniform Controlled Substances
Act [Health & Safety Code, § 11000 et seq.].

5. Section 4300 of the Code provides that every license issued by the Board may be
suspended or revoked.

6.  Section 4300.1 of the Code states:

(a) If a pharmacist possesses a license or is otherwise authorized to practice pharmacy in
any other state or by an agency of the federal government, and that license or authority is
suspended or revoked, the pharmacist's license shall be suspended automatically for the duration
of the suspension or revocation, unless terminated or rescinded as provided in subdivision (c).
The board shall notify the pharmacist of the license suspension and of his or her right to have the
issue of penalty heard as provided in this section,

(b) Upon its own motion or for good cause shown, the board may decline to impose or may
set aside the suspension when it appears to be in the interest of justice to do so, with due regard to
maintaining the integrity of and confidence in the pharmacy profession,

(c) The issue of penalty shall be heard by an administrative law judge sitting alone, by a
committee of the board sitting with an administrative law judge, or by the board sitting with an
administrative law judge, at the board's discretion. A pharmacist may request a hearing on the
penalty and that hearing shall be held within 90 days from the date of the request, If the order
suspending or revoking the pharmacist's license or authority to practice pharmacy is overturned
on appeal, any discipline ordered pursuant to this section shall automatically cease. Upon the
showing to the administrative law judgé, board, or committee of the board by the pharmacist that
the out-of-state action is not a basis for discipline in California, the suspension shall be rescinded.

If an accusation for permanent discipline is not filed within 90 days of the suspension
imposed pursuant to this section, the suspension shall automatically terminate.

{d) The record of the proceedings that resulted in the suspension or revocation of the
pharmacist's license or authority to practice pharmacy, including a transcript of the testimony

therein, may be received in evidence.
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(e) If a summary suspension has been issued pursuant to this section, the pharmacist may
request that the hearing on the penalty conducted pursuant to subdivision (c) be held at the same
time as a hearing on the accusation.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

7. Section 4301 of the Code provides, in pertinent part, that the Board shall take action
against any holder of a license who is guilty of "unprofessional conduct,” defined to include, but

not be limited to, any of the following:

(h) The administering to oneself, of any controlled substance, or the use of any dangerous
drug or of alcoholic beverages to the extent or in a manner as to be dangerous or injurious to
oneself, to a person holding a license under this chapter, or to any other person or to the public, or
to the extent that the use impairs the ability of the person to conduct with safety to the public the

practice authorized by the license.

8.  California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 1770, states:

For the purpose of denial, suspension, or revocation of a personal or facility license
pursuant to Division 1.5 (commencing with Section 475} of the Business and Professions Code, a
crime or act shall be considered substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of a
licensee or registrant if to a substantial degree it evidences present or potential unfitness of a
licensee or registrant to perform the functions authorized by his license or registration in a manner

consistent with the public health, safety, or welfare.

COST RECOVERY

9, Section 125.3 of the Code provides, in pertinent part, that a Board may request the
administrative law judge to direct a licentiate found to have committed a violation or violations of
the licensing act to pay a sum not to exceed the reasonable costs of the investigation and

enforcement of the case.
!
i
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CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE

(Dangerous Use of Drugs and/or Alcohol)

10. Respondent is subject to disciplinary action under Code section 4301, subsection (h),
in that she administered to herself, or used, controlled substances and/or alcoholic beverages to
the extent or in a manner as to be dangerous or injurious to herself, to a person holding a license
under this chapter, or fo any other person or to the public, and/or fo the extent that the use
impaired the her ability to conduct with safety to the public the practice authorized by her license,
as follows:

I1.  On or about June 3, 2313, in Petaluma, California, police officers went to
Respondent’s home in response to a 911 call. Respondent’s spouse/cohabitant had made the 911
call to report an argument or altercation between himself and Respondent. He reported that
Respondent was intoxicated by alcohol and prescription medications. The officers observed
objective indications that Respondent was intoxicated by alcchol and/or drugs, and noted that
Respondent had a difficult time answering simple questions. A chemical test of Respondent’s
breath revealed a breath alcohol level of .218%.

12. On or about August 2, 2013, in Petaluma, California, police officers went to
Respondent’s home in response to a report of a verbal disturbance. The officers observed
Respondent in the office of her apartment building manager. Respondent was engaged in a loud
verbal argument with the apartment building manager, The officers observed objective
indications that Respondent was intoxicated by alcohol and/or drugs. Respondent’s
spduse/cohabitant informed the officers that Respondent had been drinking alcohol and had also
ingested prescription medications. The officers arrested Respondent for violation of Penal Code
section 647(f) (public intoxication). A subsequent test of Respondent’s breath revealed a breath
alcohol level of . 16%.

13.  Onor about August 31, 2013, in Petaluma, California, police officers went to
Respondent’s home in response to a report of a domestic dispute. The officers observed objective
indications that Respondent was intoxicated by alcohol and/or drugs. Respondent’s

spouse/cohabitant informed the officers that Respondent was intoxicated from drinking alcohol

4 - Accusation




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28

and taking “pills,” and that Respondent had been threatening to him and to the couple’s children,
The officers arrested Respondent for having committed battery on Respondent’s
spouse/cohabitant.
PRAYER

WHEREFORE, Complainant requests that a hearing be held on the matters herein alleged,
and that following the hearing, the Board of Pharmacy issue a decision: |

1. Revoking or suspending Pharmacy Technician Registration Number TCH 26598,
issued to Suzanne M. Driscoll;

2. Ordering Suzanne M, Driscoll to pay the Board of Pharmacy the reasonable costs of
the investigation and enforcement of this case, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section
125.3;

3. Taking such other and further action as deemed necessary and proper.,

DATED: f:i ‘ g‘ Il;l }A.@,{M.O—J
VIRGI A\HEROLD

Execut fficer

Board of Pharmacy

Department of Consumer Affairs
State of California

Complainant
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