Changes in Board of Pharmacy Membership

Following several recent changes, the California State Board of Pharmacy is operating with a full membership of 13 officials representing licensees and the public.

Maria D. Serpa, PharmD, of Elk Grove was appointed by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in July as a licensee member. Her term will expire in 2022.

Dr. Serpa has been a system support pharmacist at Sutter Medical Center, Sacramento, since 1996. She held several positions at Sutter Memorial Hospital from 1993 to 1996 and previously worked at Grossmont Hospital in San Diego.

Dr. Serpa is a past president of the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists and a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the California Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists. She earned a doctor of pharmacy degree from University of the Pacific and completed a clinical pharmacy residency and critical care residency at University of California, San Diego, Medical Center.

Also in July, Ricardo Sanchez of Hollister was reappointed by the Governor as a public member of the board, where he has served since 2014. His term will expire in 2022.

Mr. Sanchez has been a state investigator at the California Department of Motor Vehicles since 1989 and was an officer at the California State Police from 1988 to 1989. He also is president of the California Association of Law Enforcement Employees, chief financial officer of the California Statewide Law Enforcement Association and a member of the San Benito Masonic Lodge.

Meanwhile, Amy Gutierrez, PharmD, of Trabuco Canyon has left after six years on the board, which she served as president from 2015 to 2018. Dr. Gutierrez was appointed by the Governor in 2012 and reappointed in 2014.

At the June 6, 2018, board meeting, members thanked Dr. Gutierrez for her service and leadership on major policy matters, including sterile compounding regulations, licensing of advanced practice pharmacists, and language translations foreign language translations for prescription drug labels.

"It's a lot of work, and it's been three years that Amy has been doing it," current board President Victor Law said. "Thank you, Amy."

The board's membership includes seven registered pharmacists and six public representatives. Members are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor, the Assembly Speaker and the Senate Rules Committee.

Members may serve two terms. Each member receives compensation of \$100 per diem and necessary expenses.

Photos and biographies of members are posted on the board's website.

###