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To: Board Members 
 
Subject: Proposed Regulations to Add or Amend Title 16 California Code of Regulations (CCR) 
sections 1702, 1702.1, 1702.2, and 1702.5 

 
 
            Attachment 1 
Background: 

 
At the July 2013 Board Meeting, the board approved proposed text to amend and/or add Title 
16 CCR sections 1702, 1702.1, 1702.2, and 1702.5 related to standardized reporting of 
convictions and discipline at the time of renewal for pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and 
designated representatives, as well as require nonresident wholesalers and nonresident 
pharmacies to report disciplinary actions by other entities at the time of renewal. The 45-day 
comment period began on August 12, 2016 and ended September 26, 2016 and the Board 
received a few comments. 
 
At this Meeting 
The board will have the opportunity to discuss the future of the regulation and determine what 
course of action it wishes to pursue.  Among its options are: 

1. Adopt the regulation as notice for comment on August 12, 2016. 
2. Amend the regulation to address the concerns expressed by the stakeholders and notice 

the modified text for a 15 day comment period.  
 
The attachment contains:  
 

1. A copy of the noticed text as approved at the July 2013 Board Meeting. 
2. A compilation document of the comments received during the 45-day comment period 

with Staff Recommendations. 
3. The comments received during the 15-day comment period.  

 
 

 
Staff Recommendation: Adopt the regulatory language as noticed on August 12, 2016, and 
delegate to the executive officer the authority to make technical or non-substantive changes as 
may be required by Office of Administrative Law or the Department of Consumer Affairs to 
complete the rulemaking file. 
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Board of Pharmacy 
 

Amend Section 1702 of Article 5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
to read as follows: 

 
1702. Pharmacist Renewal Requirements 
(a) A pharmacist applicant for renewal who has not previously submitted fingerprints as a 
condition of licensure or for whom an electronic record of the licensee’s fingerprints does not 
exist in the Department of Justice’s criminal offender record identification database shall 
successfully complete a state and federal level criminal offender record information search 
conducted through the Department of Justice by the licensee’s or registrant’s renewal date that 
occurs on or after December 7, 2010. 

(1) A pharmacist shall retain for at least three years as evidence of having complied with 
subdivision (a) either a receipt showing that he or she has electronically transmitted his or 
her fingerprint images to the Department of Justice or, for those who did not use an 
electronic fingerprinting system, a receipt evidencing that his or her fingerprints were 
recorded and submitted to the Board. 
(2) A pharmacist applicant for renewal shall pay the actual cost of compliance with 
subdivision (a). 
(3) As a condition of petitioning the board for reinstatement of a revoked or surrendered 
license, or for restoration of a retired license, an applicant shall comply with subdivision 
(a). 
(4) The board may waive the requirements of this section for licensees who are actively 
serving in the United States military. The board may not return a license to active 
status until the licensee has complied with subdivision (a). 

(b) As a condition of renewal, a pharmacist applicant shall disclose on the renewal form 
whether he or she has been convicted, as defined in Section 490 of the Business and 
Professions Code, of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or 
other country, since his or her last renewal . omitting tTraffic infractions under $300 $500 not 
involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances do not need to be disclosed. 
(c) As a condition of renewal, a pharmacist applicant shall disclose on the renewal form any 
disciplinary action against any license issued to the applicant by a government agency.  For the 
purposes of this section, “disciplinary action” means an adverse licensure or certification action 
that resulted in a restriction or penalty being placed on the license, such as revocation, 
suspension, probation or public reprimand or reproval. 
(d) Failure to provide all of the information required by this section renders an application for 
renewal incomplete and the board shall not renew the license and shall issue the applicant an 
inactive pharmacist license. An inactive pharmacist license issued pursuant to this section may 
only be reactivated after compliance is confirmed for all licensure renewal requirements. 

 
Authority:  Sections 4001.1 and 4005, Business and Professions Code.    
Reference: Sections 490, 4036, 4200.5, 4207, 4301, 4301.5 and 4400, Business and Professions 
Code; and Sections 11105(b)(10) and 11105(e), Penal Code. 
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Board of Pharmacy 
 
Adopt Section 1702.1 of Article 5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 

 
1702. 1 Pharmacy Technician Renewal Requirements 
(a) A pharmacy technician applicant for renewal who has not previously submitted fingerprints as 
a condition of licensure or for whom an electronic record of the licensee’s fingerprints does not 
exist in the Department of Justice’s criminal offender record identification database shall 
successfully complete a state and federal level criminal offender record information search 
conducted through the Department of Justice by the licensee’s or registrant’s renewal date that 
occurs on or after July 1, 2014.  

(1) A pharmacy technician shall retain for at least three years as evidence of having 
complied with subdivision (a) either a receipt showing that he or she has electronically 
transmitted his or her fingerprint images to the Department of Justice or, for those who did 
not use an electronic fingerprinting system, a receipt evidencing that his or her fingerprints 
were recorded and submitted to the Board. 
(2) A pharmacy technician applicant for renewal shall pay the actual cost of compliance with 
subdivision (a). 
(3) As a condition of petitioning the board for reinstatement of a revoked or 
surrendered license an applicant shall comply with subdivision (a). 
(4) The board may waive the requirements of this section for licensees who are actively 
serving in the United States military. The board may not return a license to active 
status until the licensee has complied with subdivision (a). 

(b) As a condition of renewal, a pharmacy technician applicant shall disclose on the renewal 
form whether he or she has been convicted, as defined in Section 490 of the Business and 
Professions Code, of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or 
other country, since his or her last renewal . Traffic infractions under $500 not involving 
alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances do not need to be disclosed. 
(c) As a condition of renewal, a pharmacy technician applicant shall disclose on the renewal 
form any disciplinary action against any license issued to the applicant by a government agency.  
For the purposes of this section, “disciplinary action” means an adverse licensure or 
certification action that resulted in a restriction or penalty against the license or certification 
such as revocation, suspension, probation or public reprimand or reproval. 
(d) Failure to provide all of the information required by this section renders an application for 
renewal incomplete and the board shall not renew the license until the licensee demonstrates 
compliance with all requirements. 

 
Authority:  Sections 4001.1 and 4005, Business and Professions Code.   
Reference:  Sections 490, 4038, 4115, 4202, 4207, 4301, 4301.5 and 4400, Business and 
Professions Code; and Sections 11105(b)(10) and 11105(e), Penal Code. 
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Board of Pharmacy 
 
Adopt Section 1702.2 of Article 5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 
 
1702. 2 Designated Representative Renewal Requirements 

 
(a) A designated representative applicant for renewal who has not previously submitted 
fingerprints as a condition of licensure or for whom an electronic record of the licensee’s 
fingerprints does not exist in 
the Department of Justice’s criminal offender record identification database shall successfully 
complete a state and federal level criminal offender record information search conducted 
through the Department of Justice by the licensee’s or registrant’s renewal date that occurs on 
or after July 1, 2014.  

(1) A designated representative shall retain for at least three years as evidence of having 
complied with subdivision (a) either a receipt showing that he or she has electronically 
transmitted his or her fingerprint images to the Department of Justice or, for those who 
did not use an electronic fingerprinting system, a receipt evidencing that his or her 
fingerprints were recorded and submitted to the Board. 
(2) A designated representative applicant for renewal shall pay the actual cost of 
compliance with subdivision (a). 
(3) As a condition of petitioning the board for reinstatement of a revoked or surrendered 
license an applicant shall comply with subdivision (a). 
(4) The board may waive the requirements of this section for licensees who are actively 
serving in the United States military. The board may not return a license to active status 
until the licensee has complied with subdivision (a). 

(b) As a condition of renewal, a designated representative applicant shall disclose on the renewal 
form whether he or she has been convicted, as defined in Section 490 of the Business and 
Professions Code, of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or other 
country, since his or her last renewal. Traffic infractions under $500 not involving alcohol, 
dangerous drugs, or controlled substances do not need to be disclosed. 
(c) As a condition of renewal, a designated representative applicant shall disclose on the renewal 
form any disciplinary action against any license issued to the applicant by a government agency. 
For the purposes of this section, “disciplinary action” means an adverse licensure or certification 
action that resulted in a restriction or penalty against the license or certification such as 
revocation, suspension, probation or public reprimand or reproval. 
(d) Failure to provide all of the information required by this section renders an application for 
renewal incomplete and the board shall not renew the license until the licensee demonstrates 
compliance with all requirements. 

 
Authority :  Sections 4001.1 and 4005, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference:  Sections 490, 4022.5, 4053, 4207, 4301, 4301.5 and 4400, Business and Professions 
Code; and Sections 11105(b)(10) and 11105(e), Penal Code. 

 
  



 

Board of Pharmacy Renewal Requirements Page 4 of 4 
16 CCR §§ 1702, 1702.1, 1702.2, 1702.5 August 12, 2016 
 

Board of Pharmacy 
 

 Adopt Section 1702.5 of Article 5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of  
 Regulations to read as follows:  
 
1702.5. Disclosure of Discipline, Renewal, Nonresident Wholesaler or Nonresident Pharmacy. 
 
(a) As a condition of renewal, an applicant seeking renewal of a license as a nonresident 
wholesaler or as a nonresident pharmacy shall report to the board any disciplinary action taken 
by any government agency since the last renewal of the license. An applicant seeking the first 
renewal of a license as a nonresident wholesaler or a nonresident pharmacy shall report to the 
board any disciplinary action taken by any government agency since issuance of the license. 
Failure to provide information required by this section shall render an application for renewal 
incomplete, and the board shall not renew the license until such time as the information is 
provided. 
 
(b) For purposes of this section, “disciplinary action” means any adverse licensure or 
certification action that resulted in a restriction or penalty against the license or certification. 
Such actions include revocation, suspension, probation or public reprimand or reproval.  
 
 
 Authority:  Section 4005, Business and Professions Code.  
 Reference:  Sections 4112, 4161, 4300, and 4301, Business and Professions Code 
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45-day Comment Compilation w/ 
Recommendations 

Comment Period Closed  
September 26, 2016 



Code Section Commenter Comment Staff Recommendations

1702(b) Ray Vrabel

Mr. Vrabel requested that the $500 limit be removed. He indicated that traffic infractions should not be reported unless 
they involve alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances. He indicated red light infractions could be over $500 and 
are not a crime so they should not be investigated. Additionally, Mr. Vrabel expressed concern about the unnecessary 
reporting and staff workload.

Reject Comment. Current 
regulation language is 
$500. It was mistakenly 
indicated as a change in 
the proposed language.  
The Board has not 
experienced a substantial 
increase in workload due 
to the $500 reporting 
requirement since it was 
implemented in 2010.

1702(b) Robert Stein
Dr. Stein requested that the language in (b) be modified to specify "traffic fine." He indicated that different court 
jurisdictions charge varying fees and taxed and could make a traffic violation total over $500 when the actual fine was 
less.

Reject Comment. Staff 
agree that a minor offense 
could lead to a fine in 
excess of $500 in 
California; however, this 
may not be the case in 
other States. Additionally, 
the Board has not 
experienced a substantial 
increase in workload due 
to the $500 reporting 
requirement.
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