1			
2			
3			
4			
5			
6			
7			
8	BEFORE THE BOARD OF PHARMACY		
9	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS STATE OF CALIFORNIA		
10		1	
11	In the Matter of the Accusation Against:	Case No. 4759	
12	MORGAN MACKAY SNYDER 1016 S. 18th Street	DEFAULT DECISION AND ORDER	
13	El Centro, CA 92243	[Gov. Code, §11520]	
14	Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 53949	[001. 0000, \$11020]	
15			
16	Respondent.		
17		•	
18	FINDINGS OF FACT		
19	1. On November 4, 2013, Complainant Virginia Herold, in her official capacity as		
20	the Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy, Department of Consumer Affairs, filed		
21	Accusation No. 4759 against Morgan Mackay Snyder (Respondent) before the Board of		
22	Pharmacy. (Accusation attached as Exhibit A.)		
23	2. On January 22, 2004, the Board of Phar	macy (Board) issued Pharmacy	
24	Technician Registration No. TCH 53949 to Responden	t. The Pharmacy Technician Registration	
25	was in full force and effect at all times relevant to the c	charges brought in Accusation No. 4759	
26	and will expire on August 31, 2013, unless renewed. To	his lapse in licensure, however, pursuant	
27	to Business and Professions Code section 4300.1 does not deprive the Board of its authority to		
28	institute or continue this disciplinary proceeding.		
	1		

- 3. On January 10, 2014, Respondent was served by Certified and First Class Mail copies of Accusation No. 4759, Statement to Respondent, Notice of Defense, Request for Discovery, and Discovery Statutes (Government Code sections 11507.5, 11507.6, and 11507.7) at Respondent's address of record which, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 4100, is required to be reported and maintained with the Board. Respondent's address of record was and is 1016 S. 18th Street, El Centro, CA 92243.
- 4. Service of the Accusation was effective as a matter of law under the provisions of Government Code section 11505, subdivision (c) and Business & Professions Code section 124.
 - 5. Government Code section 11506 states, in pertinent part:
 - (c) The respondent shall be entitled to a hearing on the merits if the respondent files a notice of defense, and the notice shall be deemed a specific denial of all parts of the accusation not expressly admitted. Failure to file a notice of defense shall constitute a waiver of respondent's right to a hearing, but the agency in its discretion may nevertheless grant a hearing.
- 6. Respondent failed to file a Notice of Defense within 15 days after service upon him of the Accusation, and therefore waived his right to a hearing on the merits of Accusation No. 4759.
 - 7. California Government Code section 11520 states, in pertinent part:
 - (a) If the respondent either fails to file a notice of defense or to appear at the hearing, the agency may take action based upon the respondent's express admissions or upon other evidence and affidavits may be used as evidence without any notice to respondent.
- 8. Pursuant to its authority under Government Code section 11520, the Board finds Respondent is in default. The Board will take action without further hearing and, based on the relevant evidence contained in the Default Decision Evidence Packet in this matter, as well as taking official notice of all the investigatory reports, exhibits and statements contained therein on file at the Board's offices regarding the allegations contained in Accusation No. 4759, finds that the charges and allegations in Accusation No. 4759, are separately and severally, found to be true and correct by clear and convincing evidence.

ORDER 1 IT IS SO ORDERED that Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 53949, heretofore 2 issued to Respondent Morgan Mackay Snyder, is revoked. 3 Pursuant to Government Code section 11520, subdivision (c), Respondent may serve a 4 5 written motion requesting that the Decision be vacated and stating the grounds relied on within seven (7) days after service of the Decision on Respondent. The agency in its discretion may 6 vacate the Decision and grant a hearing on a showing of good cause, as defined in the statute. 7 This Decision shall become effective on August 1, 2014. 8 It is so ORDERED July 2, 2014. 9 10 BOARD OF PHARMACY 11 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS STATE OF CALIFORNIA 12 (. Wusi 13 By 14 STAN C. WEISSER **Board President** 15 70881286.DOC DOJ Matter ID:SD2013705504 16 Attachment: 17 Exhibit A: Accusation 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Exhibit A

Accusation

1	Kamala D. Harris		
2	Attorney General of California JAMES M. LEDAKIS		
3	Supervising Deputy Attorney General		
اد	CARL W. SONNE Deputy Attorney General		
4	State Bar No. 116253 110 West "A" Street, Suite 1100		
5	San Diego, CA 92101		
6	P.O. Box 85266 San Diego, CA 92186-5266		
	Telephone: (619) 645-3164		
7	Facsimile: (619) 645-2061 Attorneys for Complainant		
8	BEFORE THE		
9	BOARD OF PHARMACY DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS STATE OF CALIFORNIA		
10			
11			
l	In the Matter of the Accusation Against: Case No. 4759		
12	MORGAN MACKAY SNYDER		
13	1016 S. 18th Street		
14	El Centro, CA 92243 ACCUSATION		
15	Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 53949		
16	Respondent.		
17			
18	Complainant alleges:		
19	PARTIES.		
20	1. Virginia Herold (Complainant) brings this Accusation solely in her official capacity		
21	as the Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy, Department of Consumer Affairs.		
22	2. On or about January 22, 2004, the Board of Pharmacy issued Pharmacy Technician		
23	Registration Number TCH 53949 to Morgan Mackay Snyder (Respondent). The Pharmacy		
24	Technician Registration was in full force and effect at all times until his license was placed on		
25	hold on February 5, 2013, for failure to pay a Citation described below, and Respondent's license		
26	thereafter expired on August 31, 2013, unless thereafter renewed.		
27			
28			
	II		

Accusation

JURISDICTION

- 3. This Accusation is brought before the Board of Pharmacy (Board), Department of Consumer Affairs, under the authority of the following laws. All section references are to the Business and Professions Code unless otherwise indicated.
- 4. Section 118, subdivision (b), of the Code provides that the suspension/ expiration/ surrender/ cancellation of a license shall not deprive the Board/ Registrar/ Director of jurisdiction to proceed with a disciplinary action during the period within which the license may be renewed, restored, reissued or reinstated.
 - 5. Section 482 of the Code states:

Each board under the provisions of this code shall develop criteria to evaluate the rehabilitation of a person when:

- (a) Considering the denial of a license by the board under Section 480; or
- (b) Considering suspension or revocation of a license under Section 490.

Each board shall take into account all competent evidence of rehabilitation furnished by the applicant or licensee.

- 6. Section 490 of the Code provides, in pertinent part, that a board may suspend or revoke a license on the ground that the licensee has been convicted of a crime substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of the business or profession for which the license was issued..
 - 7. Section 493 of the Code states:

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in a proceeding conducted by a board within the department pursuant to law to deny an application for a license or to suspend or revoke a license or otherwise take disciplinary action against a person who holds a license, upon the ground that the applicant or the licensee has been convicted of a crime substantially related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of the licensee in question, the record of conviction of the crime shall be conclusive evidence of the fact that the conviction occurred, but only of that fact, and the board may inquire into the circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime in order to fix the degree of discipline or to determine if the conviction is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of the licensee in question.

As used in this section, 'license' includes 'certificate,' 'permit,' 'authority,' and 'registration.'

///

28 | //

Section 4301 of the Code states:

The board shall take action against any holder of a license who is guilty of unprofessional conduct or whose license has been procured by fraud or misrepresentation or issued by mistake. Unprofessional conduct shall include, but is not limited to, any of the following:

(h) The administering to oneself, of any controlled substance, or the use of any dangerous drug or of alcoholic beverages to the extent or in a manner as to be dangerous or injurious to oneself, to a person holding a license under this chapter, or to any other person or to the public, or to the extent that the use impairs the ability of the person to conduct with safety to the public the practice authorized by the license.

REGULATIONS

9. Section 1023.6(c) of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations states:

When an order of abatement is not contested or if the order is appealed and the person or entity cited does not prevail, failure to abate the violation charged within the time specified in the citation shall constitute a violation and failure to comply with the order of abatement. Failure to timely comply with an order of abatement may result in disciplinary action being taken by the board or other appropriate judicial relief being taken against the person cited.

COSTS

10. Section 125.3, subdivision (a), states, in pertinent part:

Except as otherwise provided by law, in any order issued in resolution of a disciplinary proceeding before any board within the department . . . the board may request the administrative law judge to direct a licentiate found to have committed a violation or violations of the licensing act to pay a sum not to exceed the reasonable costs of the investigation and enforcement of the case.

11. Section 125.9(b)(5) provides as follows:

Failure of a licensee to pay a fine within 30 days of the date of assessment, unless the citation is being appealed, may result in disciplinary action being taken by the board, bureau, or commission. Where a citation is not contested and a fine is not paid, the full amount of the assessed fine shall be added to the fee for renewal of the license. A license shall not be renewed without payment of the renewal fee and fine.

FIRST CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE

(Failure to Abate Citation)

12. Respondent is subject to disciplinary action under Code sections 125.9(b)(5) and 4301 in that, in violation of section 1023.6(c) of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations,

Respondent failed to abate the Citation issued by the Board to Respondent, which conduct also constitutes unprofessional conduct within the meaning of Code sections 4301. The circumstances are as follows:

- 13. On October 23, 2012, the Board issued a Citation and Fine in Case No. CI 2011 52205 to Respondent for Unprofessional Conduct (Citation) in the total amount of \$2,500 for (1) for administering to oneself, of any control substance, or the use of any dangerous drug or of alcoholic beverage in violation of Code section 4301, subdivision (h); and (2) conviction of a crime substantially related to the practice of pharmacy. The Citation provided that it was required to be paid by November 22, 2012 in the amount of \$2,500. The Citation was issued and was not appealed or contested by Respondent.
- 14. The circumstances of the Citation arose from Respondent's DUI misdemeanor conviction in a case which Complainant is informed and believes was styled as *People v. Morgan Mackay Snyder*, in the Superior Court of Riverside County case no. BAM1201299, in which Respondent was convicted of Vehicle Code section 23152, subdivision (b), with a enhancement for Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) over 0.15 percent. Respondent's BAC at the time of arrest was 0.167 percent. As a result of his conviction, Respondent was placed on two-years probation and sentenced to serve 30 days in jail, enrolled in and complete a multiple offender DUI program, and pay a fine.
- 15. Notwithstanding the Citation, Respondent failed to pay the fine, now still outstanding in the amount of \$2,500.

SECOND CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE

(Unprofessional Conduct: Public Intoxication)

- 16. Respondent is subject to disciplinary action under section Code section 4301, subdivision (h) in that Respondent administered to himself a controlled substance, or used any dangerous drug or of alcoholic beverages to the extent or in a manner as to be dangerous or injurious to himself. The circumstances are as follows:
- 17. On March 24, 2013, at approximately 12:32 a.m., officers were dispatched to a bar regarding a disturbance by Respondent where it was reported that Respondent became highly

28

1	3. Taking such other and further action as deemed necessary and proper.
2	
3	
4	
5	DATED: 11413 VIRGINIA NEROLD
6	Executive Officer Board of Pharmacy
7	Department of Consumer Affairs State of California
8	Complainant
9	SD2013705504
10	70767910.doc
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	

Accusation