28

2564 Glenview Drive Hollister, CA 95023.

A copy of the Accusation is attached as exhibit A, and is incorporated herein by reference.

- 4. Service of the Accusation was effective as a matter of law under the provisions of Government Code section 11505, subdivision (c).
- 5. On or about December 18, 2009, the aforementioned documents were confirmed as received by return of the U.S. Postal Service Domestic Return Receipt.
 - 6. Government Code section 11506 states, in pertinent part:
 - (c) The respondent shall be entitled to a hearing on the merits if the respondent files a notice of defense, and the notice shall be deemed a specific denial of all parts of the accusation not expressly admitted. Failure to file a notice of defense shall constitute a waiver of respondent's right to a hearing, but the agency in its discretion may nevertheless grant a hearing.
- 7. Respondent failed to file a Notice of Defense within 15 days after service upon her of the Accusation, and therefore waived her right to a hearing on the merits of Accusation No. 3499.
 - 8. California Government Code section 11520 states, in pertinent part:
 - (a) If the respondent either fails to file a notice of defense or to appear at the hearing, the agency may take action based upon the respondent's express admissions or upon other evidence and affidavits may be used as evidence without any notice to respondent.
- 9. Pursuant to its authority under Government Code section 11520, the Board finds Respondent is in default. The Board will take action without further hearing and, based on the evidence on file herein, finds that the allegations in Accusation No. 3499 are true.
- 10. The total cost for investigation and enforcement in connection with the Accusation are \$4,377.50 as of January 5, 2010.

DETERMINATION OF ISSUES

- 1. Based on the foregoing findings of fact, Respondent Aimee Christine Riaski has subjected her Pharmacy Technician Registration No. TCH 41180 to discipline.
 - 2. A copy of the Accusation is attached.
 - 3. The agency has jurisdiction to adjudicate this case by default.
- 4. The Board of Pharmacy is authorized to revoke Respondent's Pharmacy Technician Registration based upon the following violations alleged in the Accusation:

Exhibit A
Accusation No. 3499

1	EDMUND G. Brown Jr.
2	Attorney General of California FRANK H. PACOE
3	Supervising Deputy Attorney General CHAR SACHSON
4	Deputy Attorney General State Bar No. 161032
5	455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 11000 San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
6	Telephone: (415) 703-5558 Facsimile: (415) 703-5480
7	Attorneys for Complainant
8	BEFORE THE
9	BOARD OF PHARMACY DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
-	STATE OF CALIFORNIA
10	
11	In the Matter of the Accusation Against: Case No. 3499
12	AIMEE RIASKI ACCUSATION
13	2564 Glenview Drive Hollister, CA 95023
14	Pharmacy Technician License No. TCH 41180
15	
16	Respondent.
17	Complainant alleges:
18	<u>PARTIES</u>
19	1. Virginia Herold (Complainant) brings this Accusation solely in her official capacity
20	as the Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy, Department of Consumer Affairs.
21	2. On or about January 2, 2004, the Board of Pharmacy issued Pharmacist Technician
22	License Number TCH 41180 to Aimee Riaski (Respondent Riaski). The Pharmacist Technician
23	License was in full force and effect at all times relevant to the charges brought herein and will
24	expire on August 31, 2011, unless renewed.
25	JURISDICTION
26	3. This Accusation is brought before the Board of Pharmacy (Board), Department of
27	Consumer Affairs, under the authority of the following laws. All section references are to the
28	Business and Professions Code unless otherwise indicated.
Ī	

- 4. Section 4300(a) of the Code provides that every license issued by the Board may be suspended or revoked.
 - 5. Section 4301 of the Code states:

"The board shall take action against any holder of a license who is guilty of unprofessional conduct or whose license has been procured by fraud or misrepresentation or issued by mistake.

Unprofessional conduct shall include, but is not limited to, any of the following:

"(f) The commission of any act involving moral turpitude, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or corruption, whether the act is committed in the course of relations as a licensee or otherwise, and whether the act is a felony or misdemeanor or not.

"(j) The violation of any of the statutes of this state, or any other state, or of the United States regulating controlled substances and dangerous drugs.

"(o) Violating or attempting to violate, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of or conspiring to violate any provision or term of this chapter or of the applicable federal and state laws and regulations governing pharmacy, including regulations established by the board or by any other state or federal regulatory agency."

6. Section 4059 of the Code states, in pertinent part:

"(a) A person may not furnish any dangerous drug, except upon the prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, optometrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor pursuant to Section 3640.7. A person may not furnish any dangerous device, except upon the prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, optometrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor pursuant to Section 3640.7."

7. Section 4060 of the Code states, in pertinent part:

"No person shall possess any controlled substance, except that furnished to a person upon the prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, optometrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor pursuant to Section 3640.7, or furnished pursuant to a drug order issued by a certified nurse-midwife pursuant to Section 2746.51, a nurse practitioner pursuant to Section 2836.1, a physician assistant pursuant to Section 3502.1, a naturopathic doctor pursuant to Section 3640.5, or a pharmacist pursuant to either subparagraph (D) of paragraph (4) of, or clause (iv) of subparagraph (A) of paragraph (5) of, subdivision (a) of Section 4052. This section shall not apply to the possession of any controlled substance by a manufacturer, wholesaler, pharmacy, pharmacist, physician, podiatrist, dentist, optometrist, veterinarian, naturopathic doctor, certified nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant, when in stock in containers correctly labeled with the name and address of the supplier or producer."

- 8. California Health and Safety Code section 11350(a) provides that every person who possesses certain controlled substances without a written prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed to practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison.
- 9. Section 125.3 of the Code states, in pertinent part, that the Board may request the administrative law judge to direct a licentiate found to have committed a violation or violations of the licensing act to pay a sum not to exceed the reasonable costs of the investigation and enforcement of the case.
- 10. Section 118, subdivision (b), of the Code provides that the expiration of a license shall not deprive the Board of jurisdiction to proceed with a disciplinary action during the period within which the license may be renewed, restored, reissued or reinstated.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES/DANGEROUS DRUGS

11. Section 4022 of the Code states:

"Dangerous drug" or "dangerous device" means any drug or device unsafe for self-use in humans or animals, and includes the following:

"(a) Any drug that bears the legend: "Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without prescription," "Rx only," or words of similar import.

1	3. Taking such other and further action as deemed necessary and proper.
2	
3	12/8/09
4	VIRGINIA HEROLD
5	Executive Officer Board of Pharmacy
6	Department of Consumer Affairs State of California
7	Complainant .
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26 27	
28	SF2009404536
20	
Ì	6