Skip to Main Content
California State Board of Pharmacy

Pharmacy Technician License

To be licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in California, you must satisfy the requirements under Business and Professions Code section 4202.

Contact Information

Checking on the Status of Your Pharmacy Technician Application? 

  1. Allow the board 45 days to process your application before checking on the status. 
  2. The board will notify you by mail if your application is not complete. 
  3. If you do not receive a deficiency letter, please check the board’s website daily to verify if your license has been issued. 
  4. To verify if your license has been issued, please check the board’s website by conducting a License Search. Verification of licensure from the board’s website is proof of licensure.
  5. Licenses are printed and mailed from a third party.  New licenses should be received between four to six weeks after a license is issued and will be sent to the address of record on file with the board. 
  6. Renewal notices are sent out to the address of record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of a license. 
  7. Any license not renewed 90 days after the expiration date will be cancelled and you will be required to reapply by submitting a new application and comply with the laws and regulations in effect at the time of application.

When emailing the board, please provide the following in your email correspondence:

E-mail: appstatus@dca.ca.gov